eight by eight


August: Finished Project by daria
October 1, 2008, 1:03 pm
Filed under: Daria, finished | Tags:

Dear Blair,

I had no idea what to do this month, so I just sat down & started cutting.

Looking at it now, it seems clear that I was influenced by all the Alabama Chanin stuff floating around the blogs, but at the time I was wiped out from a busy weekend & thought, basically, oh, good, felt doesn’t fray & then I can stitch it down & it will be THREADY.

Actually, I like it a lot more than I thought I would, especially the green section — which, as it happens, is the one I liked least after cutting, but sewed down anyway because those are the rules.  I’ve been thinking a lot about printmaking lately, about repetitive pattern & simple shapes, & I think that definitely seeped through into this piece.

I sort of wish I’d assigned the floss colors differently, so the rectangles weren’t quite so tonal, but overall, I think it turns out that I am more pleased with this project than with some of the months that I spent much more time on.  There’s something to be said for just leaning into it & letting the thread fall where it may (ha), I guess.

D

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lovely Daria! I was really curious to see where you’d go with all that floss I sent. I love all the play with shapes, and the loose thread ends on the face, its a very cool way to play with that thread.

You’re right, I think there is something to be said for just working with it and pushing forward, seeing where initial inspiration takes you. I love doing that with these projects.

Comment by blair

i’d like to have that message tattooed on my brain – the one about leaning in and letting things happen rather than worrying too much about any one thing or another. the best creative juices flow that way, i think. (and i like the tonal rectangles.)

Comment by emily




Leave a Reply

