eight by eight


July: Finished Project by daria
September 2, 2008, 2:30 pm
Filed under: Daria, finished | Tags: ,

Dear Blair,

Hi, I’m back.

Ok, so, at first I was thinking about taking all those fancy fabrics & doing a sort of undulating striped patchwork piece, meant to be wave-esque.  But, you know, slippery.

That was my best idea,  though, until the image of concentric ripples, like when you drip water into a puddle, popped into my head.

I thought it would be a nice way to manage the gradations of color you sent, plus it had the added benefit of making use of wonder under instead of actual piecing, so I was all for it.

So I organized the colors, then cut some wonky circles.  After fusing my pieces, I stitched around each one with some metallic aqua thread I had on hand.  And that was it.

On the one hand, it sort of reminds me of an egg (if the white fabric was in the shape of a slice of bread, it would look very much like my daughter’s lunch today), but on the other hand, it’s also sort of like a lily pad, which is also watery, right?, & mostly it feels very clean & simple & unfussy to me.

D

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is wonderful, couldn’t be closer to water. Did you use the shiny side of the one pale blue fabric? I like both sides of it and was curious which one you’d use.

I do think this theme got me out of my button block, don’t you?

Comment by blair

i totally saw puddle. and i love it, daria. it is very inspired.

Comment by erin

this is wonderful. i see the ripples, absolutely, (and the egg sandwich, now that you mention it) and the whole thing says “water.” it’s lovely.

Comment by emily




Leave a Reply

