eight by eight


July’s summer postcard to myself, all done by Blair
August 31, 2008, 4:58 pm
Filed under: Blair, finished | Tags: ,

Dear Daria,

July’s little watery piece was just what I needed this month. I’m not sure why, but I found the process of making this one very relaxing and sweet. Perhaps its because summer is ending? Perhaps I was remember all those afternoons the we wandered around the beach, picking up rocks and other little bits. I loved all the parts in the box you sent for July, especially the little painting.

I’m sure you didn’t intend for me to quite as literally inspired by your painting as I was, but I couldn’t help it. It was just perfect, and I enjoyed putting all the colors and shapes together to come up with a fabric version. The green-blues and baby blues you sent could be my new favorite color combinations. Its funny how they did not feel pastel, but just beachy and washed, lovely.

So, I consider this a postcard of our summer. It will always be a reminder of good stuff.

B

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i am amazed by the detail in this blair. it is wonderfully perfect.

Comment by erin

look how great! I particularly love the rocks, but the whole thing is terrific. I see lots of Alabama Chanin influence, yes?

Comment by daria




Leave a Reply

