eight by eight


April: Finished Project by daria
April 30, 2008, 11:32 pm
Filed under: Daria, finished | Tags:

Dear Blair,

Something about this month’s project felt very clean to me, the tidy & angular idea of square, plus the wholesome fabrics you sent, which is probably the dorkiest way I have ever described fabric, only they really do make me think of some sort of golden prairie fantasy land of gingham aprons & perfect pie crust, which I’m sure is EXACTLY what you were going for when you put the packet together.

Anyway.

I just didn’t feel like I should interfere very much.  I cut the patterns into squares of various sizes, surrounded them with the prairie grass beige solid, then bulked the piece out with some leftover linen/cotton strips from the scrap box.

How can I look at that button & not think of cherry pie?  (Or, at the very least, cherry lifesavers?)

The burlap was a little tricky, but in the end I pieced in a solid red square, then stitched a square of burlap over the top after pulling a few threads to open up some larger spaces in the weave & reveal the underlying fabric.  I didn’t fuss much, & I like how it plays off the very similarly-colored background fabrics.

Basically, once I got my box out the door, I loved this month.  I’m looking forward to next month, too, since it’s starting to feel like spring just in time for “green.”

D

*As usual, I posted larger images than usual for the big reveal but looks like our template cuts off the sides so be sure to click the pictures for full size or check them out on the 8×8 flickr.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it’s great, daria! and i see you used your new serger, too. 🙂

Comment by erin

this is a beauty! you totally ‘got it’!

Comment by blair

This is my favorite square so far. Love the color and the balance. This project is so inspiring – I am would love to do a project like this in 2009.

Have a wonderful day.

Comment by teresa

i love this. i really like the stitching around the house print fabric. great idea!

Comment by melissa s.

It turned out real nice. And I like how you described the fabric.

Comment by Gina

I really enjoy the textural work you do. Added elements layered on top, like eye candy. Great work, thanks for sharing!!

Comment by TACE




Leave a Reply

