eight by eight


you sent March fabrics in brown paper, I’ll actually need a paper bag. by blair
March 21, 2008, 4:41 pm
Filed under: Blair, inspiration | Tags: ,

march-inspiration.jpg

Dear Daria,

I know you’re swamped with school auction craziness, and you know I sit here in my post-auction leisure (as if!). The March color pairing you sent has really inspired me these past couple of weeks (or maybe its that everything truly does just look better when the sun shines on it!). I keep going back to this quilt project in Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts (a detail shot from the book is pictured above). You know the “Sort of Crazy Quilt” project…the one in the more than 12 hour section. I know, what am I thinking?? Seriously though, I’ve always wanted to try Denyse Schmidt’s approach to piecing to combining colors (the paper-bag technique) and I think the stack of fabrics you sent is just the pile to start with. I know that the version in the book uses many tonal colors combined to flow nicely, but I would like to mix up the blues and oranges you sent to see how the contrast would work. This is the part when I so love the fact that this project is small and focused, eight by eight is a very doable size.

Hope to hear from you soon.

B

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh! i can’t wait to see what you come up with, blair.

Comment by emily

The suspense….aggh hahaha I also can’t wait.

Comment by TACE

i’ve always wanted to try the paper bag method, too. i think i like control too much – maybe that would be a bit freeing. i’m interested to see what you do!

Comment by erin




Leave a Reply

