eight by eight


January: clean is still the thing by daria
January 22, 2008, 11:43 pm
Filed under: Daria, inspiration | Tags: , ,

Dear Blair,

The funny thing is, I have never even picked up a Jane Cumberbatch book — so if she’s hovering somewhere in my inspiration, I’m pretty sure I’m getting it by way of YOUR blog (though, thinking about it, your pictures aren’t so different than all of the airily-styled Japanese craft books I’ve got around). Those images are great, though; I wish my own January involved such a quiet white room.

I did manage to get my hands on the Williamson book, & here’s my favorite:

jan22small-1.jpg

I like the stitching as line drawing plus the small spots of paint, like you mentioned with your pick from the book, the cleanness of it appeals to me. I know that a lot of people are very excited about her use of unusual materials; I think maybe I should check this book out again in six months, when we’ve been working with the idea of this project for a while, because right now I am less excited about sewing with onion bags or etc than I am about messing around with all the regular supplies in my studio & just seeing what I can do.

Turns out that the first thing I could do was use eightbyeight as the perfect excuse to buy a new packet of Moleskines.

jan22small-3.jpg

Which also seems like a January kind of thing to do. Also, there are few things I love more than filling a notebook with sketches & swatches.

Now the thing I’m doing is being a little stuck on a point of technique, since there’s a very specific thing I want to try to do, only I don’t know exactly what that thing IS (I hope I’ll know it when I see it). Good thing we have a few more days, hm?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

