eight by eight


January process by blair
January 11, 2008, 11:30 am
Filed under: Blair, inspiration | Tags: ,

the-uncommon-quilter.jpg

Dear Daria,

Last night I was looking through The Uncommon Quilter by Jeanne Williamson again. This book was what originally inspired me to think in terms of a long term project like ours in the first place. I loved that she didn’t make excuses for not finding the time to sit a make a tiny quilt each week, and that she set rules for herself that made this even more doable. For example she “could not throw out the original piece and start over with a new one if I didn’t like how it was turning out. I would not obsess over the aesthetic of the piece- the goal was to create.” I know if I allowed myself a “start over” I would ironically never really get “started”. Her goal was to create, as ours is here. She has an interesting You Tube video of one of her small quilts coming together, which gives an idea of the randomness of the process. The photo above is one of my favorite pieces in the book. I tend to be such a clean-lined girl, and always looking for symmetry and balance when I craft. Perhaps its time to change my own rules up a bit.

I have been thinking about “new” in terms of this month’s theme in so many different ways this week. Did you know that it snowed for the first time in living memory in Baghdad this morning? Talk about something new! I know what a sense of quiet and calm snow can bring to us here, I wonder what it felt like there… watching that snow fall?

xo

B

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Blair, I was just gifted that book for Christmas!
For a long time now I have been thinking about
small art quilts–I’m ready to get started! Will
you be making something similar with your box
from Daria? Looking forward to seeing what you
guys come up with. xo.

Comment by Toni

hi blair & daria: I’ve been a fan of both of your blogs for quite some time and find you both incredibly inspiring. I’m excited to follow your newest creative path!

Comment by erica d.

This book looks so inspiring! I’m so excited to see your work!! Have fun Blai and Daria!!

Comment by natascha

Thanks for that youtube link…very cool. I am excited to see where this project takes you guys!

Comment by jmbmommy

that whole bit about not starting over….that is a great outlook to have. i think i could use that, too.

Comment by erin




Leave a Reply

