eight by eight


NEW by daria
January 7, 2008, 7:12 pm
Filed under: Daria | Tags: ,

Dear Blair, I’m relieved! It felt obvious to put together the blankest slate I could for “new,” but I wasn’t sure if it was splashy enough for the inaugural box (do the sequins count as splashy?). I know what direction I’d go, with a group of materials like that; I know you’ll take it someplace completely different & I am going to be dying with curiosity all month.

Actually, it looks to me like we weren’t so far off in our theme interpretations. (I thought hard about putting a tiny bit of pale color in with all that white, like something emerging from snow, like the postcard you tucked in the box.) Maybe it’s that January organizing mood, but I think the fabrics you sent look well-scrubbed, slightly bleached out. I have no idea what to do with them, it’s exciting!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am so excited to see what you wonderful ladies get up to!!
and yay – am i really the first person to comment on this blog!?!!?

Comment by amy

What a fun project…I’ll be watching to see what you come up with!

Comment by Homemadeoriginals

fun!! i can’t wait to see what you get up to.

Comment by jen j-m

What a great idea! It will be fun to see how you put all of these supplies together…

Comment by polkadotcreations

what a fantastic idea for a project. it’s a great idea to have something like this on the go to keep up the creative momentum. after taking ‘the handmade pledge’ over chirstmas, i have been trying to think of a way to keep the pledge going to some extent and do one crafty thing a day (even if it’s just sewing a button on!)

Comment by lucykatecrafts...

have fun with this! i can’t wiat to see what it all turns into!

Comment by Jen b

great idea. I’m looking forward to following along.

Comment by urbanpaisley

Hello Ladies!
Well done both for coming up with a wonderfully creative year long project. I’m particularly interested in hearing about the ‘process’ or journey of how you get from A to B.
Have added you to my favourites and will certainly be a regular visitor.
Bye for now, Alison

Comment by alison

This is so great! A friend and I have been making a 10×10 project of our own- we both “love” really weird fabric patterns so have been making an intentionally ugly quilt together!

my little pony

good luck with your project!

Comment by laura

This is fantastic girls!!! I love the idea and will be watching closely to see what wonderful creations your crafty minds and fingers come up with.

Comment by Nichola

This sounds like fun. Can’t wait to see what goodies you two make!

Comment by TACE

Brialliant idea, ladies! I can’t wait to see the results.

Comment by aliciaalferman




Leave a Reply

